The NOSPR (Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra) has announced an extraordinary event, the Festival of Premieres Polish Modern Music, to be held between 24 and 26 March 2017. The festival’s seventh edition will see world premiere performances of nearly 30 works written by composers from diverse generations: from debutants to the most seasoned artists. Apart from the organiser, the Narodowa Orkiestra Symfoniczna Polskiego Radia, the festival will feature such leading Polish ensembles as Orkiestra Kameralna Miasta Tychy Aukso, Zespół Śpiewaków Miasta Katowice Camerata Silesia, Kwartet Śląski, and Orkiestra Muzyki Nowej in addition to a number of renowned soloists, e.g. Daniel Costello, Alina Mleczko, Piotr Orzechowski, Geneviève Strosser, and Hannah Weisbach.

The seven concerts of this year’s edition will present works written by the leading Polish composers, including Rafał Augustyn, Zbigniew Bargielski, Ryszard Gabryś, Zygmunt Krauze, Hanna Kulenty-Majoor, Krzysztof Meyer, and Piotr Moss.

The following works have received financial support from the 5th edition of the ‘Composing Commissions’ programme:

Krzysztof Wołek – Spin for grand symphony orchestra and live electronics

Dariusz Przybylski – Fontana di amore per nessuno. Omaggio a Pasolini for saxophone, boy soprano and symphony orchestra

Roman Czura – Symphony no 2 Wie ein Naturlaut

Krzysztof Meyer – Trio for flute, violin and cello op. 129

Grzegorz Duchnowski – USHUAIA for voices and orchestra

PRASQUAL – MASHRABIYYAPoemat wędrującego światła for cor anglais/oboe, horn, 93 orchestra musicians in 6 space groups and electronic music

Zygmunt Krauze – Rondo for Rhodes piano and small string orchestra

Marcin Stańczyk – A Due for Rhodes piano, string orchestra and electronics

Sławomir Kupczak – Pełnia for Rhodes piano, string orchestra and electronics

Festival guide